The government has announced a change to the travel red list that will come into effect from 11 October, opening up more destinations for overseas travel.

The change will see a total of 47 different destinations removed from the list, meaning people visiting those places will no longer be required to spent time in a quarantine hotel on their return to the UK.

There were also be no need for a pre-return test, with the only requirement beinbg a PCR test two days after arrival.

These rules only apply to people who are fully vaccinated against COVID-19, with anyone not vaccinated requiring the pre-travel test, tests on days two and eight after arrival and a ten day isolation period.

Brazil, Cuba, Mexico, the Seychelles, South Africa and Thailand are amongst the popular long-haul destinations that will move from the list when the changes come in to effect.

"With half-term and winter sun around the corner, we’re making it easier for families and loved ones to reunite, by significantly cutting the number of destinations on the red list, thanks in part to the increased vaccination efforts around the globe," transport secretary Grant Shapps said.

"Restoring people’s confidence in travel is key to rebuilding our economy and levelling up this country. With less restrictions and more people traveling, we can all continue to move safely forward together along our pathway to recovery."

From late October, fully vaccinated passengers including under 18s returning from a rest of world country will have the option to replace their day two PCR test with a cheaper lateral flow test - with a free PCR test to follow if a positive result is given.

The red list will now comprise of the following as of 11 October:

  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Haiti
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Venezuela